4th Indian Land Opening, O.T., 19 April 1892
Let us explore the 4th Indian Land Opening, April 19, 1892. In the map to the left (outlined in red) is the 4th Land Opening, April 19, 1892 (Cheyenne-Arapaho Indian Reservation). It is located on the west edge of Oklahoma Territory - South of the Cherokee Strip - North of Old Greer County, Kiowa-Comanche and Apache reservation, and Wichita-Caddo reservation.
According to the Act of Congress provisions . . . dated the 24th April 1820 (An Act making further provision for the sale of the Public Lands), President Grover Cleveland gave in trust to Amos A. Ewing (Probate Judge), the S/2 of Section 19, Township 16 North, Range 11 West Indian Meridian (WIM), and described on official Plat as Lots 3-4 E/2 SW/4 and SE/4 of Section 19, Township 16N of Range 11 WIM, containing three hundred nine and thirty hundredths (309.30) acres, at $1.50 per acre, for the total sum of $463.95, said receipt and certificate being issued to said Probate Judge for the use and benefit of the occupants thereof according to their respective interests.
The Watonga history of 1892-1992 . . . goes on to say that the county seat towns were designated by the proclamation. At 4:00pm deeds to the town lots were issued by the Probate Judge (Amos Ewing). Judge Ewing, as Trustee of Watonga Townsite of Watonga, "C" (Blaine) County, Oklahoma Territory, sold all the lots mentioned in this book to the first title holders in 1892, except those mentioned otherwise. W. R. Granger was register of deeds, "C" County, O.T.
Watonga is located . . . in the exact center of Blaine County and is named after an Arapaho Chief, Wa-Ah (means black) Dan-Ga-Ah (means coyote). A well-versed Arapaho once told someone, "You know how the white man mess things up, they just spelled it like it sounded to them."
The Watonga history also mentions... Judge Ewing was accused of wrong-doing in selling lots for his personal gain to his henchmen (Sooners/Boomers) when they had no entry certificate allowing them to be able to purchase lots. It was never proven that he had henchmen, and the other accusations were never proven. The land was patented to Amos A. Ewing, Probate Judge, October 22, 1895.
W. S. Wishard's Letter . . . Attorney for Watonga (W.S. Wishard) wrote a letter to the Department of Interior in regard to a patent. Wishard also must have inquired as to the Lot reservation to Judge Amos A. Ewing. You can read the Reply to Mr. Wishard's Letter.
In 1895 . . in the City of Watonga, there were two grocery stores, three blacksmith and wagon shops, one feed store, one drug store, one meat market, two clothing stores, Post Office, three hotels, Court House, jail, two saloons, bank building, three livery barns, one feed stall, power mill, five real estate and law offices, three newspaper buildings, one school building, two churches, one bakery, one cotton gin, one implement sotre, three general merchandise stores, one dry goods store, one millinery, and three hardware stores.
View/Write Comments (count 1)
updates (1 subscribers) |
Comments: Thanks for the fascinating history. ~Sandie 2011-08-31 13:30:14
Create Your Badge